Due to the evolving COVID-19 situation in New South Wales (NSW), the ACT Government is updating travel directions for people travelling to the ACT from affected areas of NSW.

People should not be travelling between Greater Sydney and the ACT at this time.

From 4.00pm today (23 June 2021), the ACT Government will introduce a new ‘stay-at-home’ requirement for anyone who leaves the following seven (7) Local Government Areas (LGAs) of Greater Sydney – City of Sydney, Waverley, Randwick, Canada Bay, Inner West, Bayside and Woollahra – and enters the ACT.

In addition, anyone who has been in the broader Greater Sydney, Central Coast, Nepean Blue Mountains, Wollongong and Shellharbour regions of NSW (including the LGAs above) in the past 14 days, will need to complete an online declaration form on the COVID-19 website. This form will be available from 6.00pm tonight (23 June). This is to ensure we are able to contact people if travel directions need to be escalated in the coming days.

At this time, these requirements will remain in place for at least one week, until 11.59pm Wednesday 30 June 2021.

If you must travel for essential reasons, you must abide by all public health directions in place in NSW and the ACT. This includes changing travel plans and adhering to public health instructions upon your return.

ACT Health is continuing to monitor the situation very closely and will put in place further directions if required in order to keep our community safe. We will provide regular updates on the evolving situation.

If you are an ACT resident and are leaving the affected LGAs on or after 4.00pm today and entering the ACT you need to:

  • Complete an online declaration form within 24 hours prior to arriving in the ACT or within 24 hours from the commencement of the new stay at home requirements.
  • Travel directly to the residence where you will spend the stay-at-home period. You should only leave the residence for an approved essential purpose. The stay-at-home requirement will be in place until at least 11.59pm on 30 June 2021.
  • Everyone aged 12 years and over must wear a mask if leaving their premises for any of these essential purposes.  Mask wearing is not required if undertaking vigorous exercise outdoors.

(This message has been directly obtained from an ACT government media release)